‘Suicide Squad’ Cast Revealed, Jared Leto to Play Joker

It’s official folks, Warner Bros. announced the main cast of the Suicide Squad, directed by David Ayer and produced by Charles Roven and Richard Suckle. Filming is set to begin next April in Toronto.

According to WB president Greg Silverman, “The Warner Bros. roots are deep on this one. We look forward to seeing this terrific ensemble, under David Ayer’s amazing guidance, give new meaning to what it means to be a villain and what it means to be a hero.”

Here’s the official cast list:

Jared Leto – The Joker

Will Smith – Deadshot

Tom Hardy – Rick Flagg

Margot Robbie – Harley Quinn

Jai Courtney – Boomerang

Cara Delevingne – Enchantress

Image source: DC Comics
Image source: DC Comics

Suicide Squad is the story of convicted supervillains who have a chance at redemption by undertaking dangerous missions (think Avengers if they were all once evil criminals). Jesse Eisenberg is said to be in discussions to play Lex Luther in the film as well (he is currently playing the role in the upcoming Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice).

The Suicide Squad’s leader, Dr. Amanda Waller, still hasn’t been cast but Variety reports that Viola Davis, Octavia Spencer and Oprah Winfrey are all on the shortlist.

The film’s expected release date is August 5, 2016.

Nicole C
Nicole Chttps://theworkprint.com
Nicole is the Features Editor for The Workprint. She may or may not be addicted to coffee, audiobooks, and sci-fi.

Latest articles

Related articles

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.